Who are we ?

In business since 2018, we are scientists and engineers with a background in public research and private companies. Using Open Source technologies, we develop phenotyping, growing and simulation tools for research and plant production.

Phymea was founded by two former ecophysiologists and an engineer in signal processing and robotics. They  worked on maize and drought tolerance, while the latter specialised in computer vision and neural networks. Through its activities, Phymea carries out research work that results in the co-writing of scientific articles with the public institutes.

Our team is a mix of complementary profiles, which allows us to bridge the gap between the possibilities offered by technology and the expectations of biologists and agronomists.

 

In other words, we are able to identify relevant technologies and adapt them to the specific needs of the plant, for makers, growers and researchers.

Our approach

"If NASA's sending Arduinos into space, why not us into our fields, greenhouses and forests?"

At Phymea, we are passionate and convinced by open source technologies and initiatives such as the Arduino project or the Raspberry Pi Foundation. We have each used these tools throughout our careers, and we have appreciated them for the opportunities they offer in terms of flexibility, precision and reliability.

As former researchers, we have been confronted with the limitations of human observations: limited repeatability, reduced volume and subjective methodology. We believe that one of the solutions is automation: solving the problems inherent to human intervention. We seek to make automation accessible to all those involved in the plant world, especially those with limited means, by adapting Open Source technologies to create reliable and affordable tools.

open_source_environementv2.png

Why Open Source ?

Open-source technologies unleash creativity.

They are softwares or hardwares whose code and sources are made available to customers, so that they can modify it as they wish. This has subsequently evolved and now refers to royalty-free technologies, which everyone is free to modify and distribute.

They allow, at a lower cost, the design of complex solutions based on technological elements developed and shared by a strong community. This community is made up of academics, researchers, engineers and users, with the watchwords of the common good, sharing and mutual aid. Scientific methodology is omnipresent, and it is naturally accompanied by a permanent openness and questioning. This results in proven and constantly improved technologies to integrate new concepts or techniques. This community and its large-scale experimental approach thus provide Open Source with a guarantee of viability and maturity, which a proprietary technology cannot claim.

Building our developments on top of these technologies allows us to focus on our own aspects, such as plant recognition, measurement, cultivation and modelling. In return, we contribute to enriching the OPEN SOURCE offer on the basis of our specific developments focused on what grows.

 

Our challenges

It begins with a seed.

While on paper Open Source may be the solution to all problems, in reality these generic technologies are complex and require skills to be put together and "shaped" effectively. We have seen the obstacles  that hinder the adoption of these technologies, and we wish to do something about it.

Open Source often surrounds itself with doubts, even fears, which are often legitimate, and which find their source in an apparent complexity, a dilution of information and a generic aspect. It is then easy to think that the implementation of open source technologies is restricted to an expert or informed community.

 

This is where we come in. Our job is to help you better master these new technologies, to think and carry out your projects, however complex and specialised they may be.
 

Our business model reflects our values. Many companies develop and sell open source technologies, while having demonstrated their long-term viability. However, in order to survive, they have been able to create a specific communication and development dynamic: the advertising medium becomes a training medium, intellectual property is replaced by continuous development, and the desire to create loyalty becomes a desire to federate.

 

Following the example of these companies, the commercial approach can become virtuous, it no longer seeks to create a need, but to help you create concrete solutions that are useful to society.
 

Every company has its challenges, these are ours!

Qui sommes-nous ?

En activité depuis 2018, nous sommes des scientifiques et ingénieurs issus de la recherche publique et du domaine privé. En nous appuyant sur les technologies ouvertes (Open Source), nous développons des outils de phénotypage, de culture, et de simulation pour la recherche et la production végétale.

 

Phymea est le fruit de l'association de deux écophysiologistes et d'un ingénieur en traitement du signal. Les premiers ont étudié la réponse des plantes aux stress environnementaux, alors que le troisième s’est spécialisé en vision numérique et réseaux de neurones. 

Notre équipe est formée de profils complémentaires, qui font le pont entre les possibilités offertes par la technologie, et les objectifs des biologistes et des agronomes.

 

En d’autres termes, notre équipe est à même d’identifier les technologies pertinentes et de les adapter aux besoins spécifiques des végétaux et à leur culture.

Une démarche singulière

"Si la NASA envoie des Arduino dans l'espace, pourquoi pas nous dans nos champs, serres et forêts ?"

Chez Phymea, nous sommes passionnés et convaincus par les technologies ouvertes/libres et les initiatives telles que Arduino ou la Fondation Raspberry Pi. Nous avons chacun utilisé ces outils à travers nos parcours, et nous les avons appréciés pour les opportunités qu'ils offrent en termes de flexibilité, de précision et de fiabilité.

En tant qu’anciens chercheurs, nous avons été confrontés aux limitations que génèrent les observations humaines : répétabilité limitée, volume réduit et méthodologie subjective. Nous pensons que l’une des solutions est l’automatisation, résolvant les problèmes inhérents à l’intervention humaine. Malheureusement souvent, cela reste trop cher. Nous cherchons à rendre ces outils accessibles à tous les acteurs du végétal et particulièrement ceux aux moyens limités, grâce à l’adaptation de technologies Open Source, pour créer des outils fiables et abordables.

open_source_environementv2.png

Pourquoi l'Open Source ?

Les technologies Open Source libèrent l'ingéniosité.

 

Les technologies Open Source sont à la base des logiciels dont le code est mis à disposition des clients, pour qu'ils puissent le modifier à leur guise. Ceci a ensuite évolué et désigne maintenant les technologies libres de droits, que chacun est libre de modifier et de distribuer.

Elles permettent, à moindre coût, de concevoir des solutions complexes à partir d’éléments technologiques développés et partagés par une communauté solide. Cette communauté est formée d’universitaires, de chercheurs, d’ingénieurs et d’utilisateurs, avec comme mots d’ordre le bien commun, le partage et l’entraide. La méthodologie scientifique est omniprésente, et elle s’accompagne naturellement d’une ouverture et d’une remise en question permanentes. Il en découle des technologies éprouvées et constamment améliorées pour intégrer les nouveaux concepts ou techniques. Cette communauté et sa démarche expérimentale à grande échelle, apportent ainsi à l’Open Source un gage de viabilité et de maturité, auquel une technologie propriétaire ne peut prétendre.

Baser nos développements sur ces technologies permet de nous focaliser sur les aspects qui nous sont propres, comme la reconnaissance, la mesure, la culture et la modélisation des végétaux. En retour, nous contribuons à enrichir l’offre Open Source sur la base de nos développements spécifiques axés sur ce qui pousse.

 

Nos challenges

Pour commencer, il faut planter la graine.

Sur le papier l’Open Source peut être la solution à tous les problèmes, en réalité ces technologies génériques sont complexes et nécessitent des compétences pour être assemblées et «modelées» efficacement. Nous avons pu constater les obstacles  qui freinent l’adoption de ces technologies, et nous souhaitons y remédier.

 

L’Open Source s’entoure parfois de doutes, voire de peurs, souvent légitimes, et qui découlent de sa complexité apparente, de son aspect générique et de la dilution de l’information. Il est alors facile de penser que la mise en œuvre de technologies Open Source est réservée à un public averti.

C’est là que nous intervenons. Nous sommes des accompagnateurs, notre métier est de vous aider à mieux maitriser ces nouvelles technologies, pour penser et réaliser vos projets aussi complexes et pointus soient-ils.

Notre modèle économique est à l’image de nos valeurs. De nombreuses entreprises développent et vendent des technologies ouvertes ou libres, tout en ayant fait preuve sur le long terme de leur viabilité. Cependant, pour perdurer elles ont su créer une communication et une dynamique de développement spécifique : le support publicitaire devient un support de formation, la propriété intellectuelle est remplacée par des développements continus, et la volonté de fidéliser devient une volonté de fédérer.

 

A l’instar de ces entreprises, la démarche commerciale peut devenir vertueuse, elle ne cherche plus à créer un besoin, mais à vous aider à créer des solutions concrètes et utiles à la société.

Chaque entreprise a ses challenges, voici les nôtres !